Flashback, founded in 1982 by Coleman Lyttle, launches its fourth decade of music-making with this dynamic nine-member lineup:




Barbara Lipford — lead vocalist:
A veteran of popular Richmond bands Groove Spot, Street Life, and Horizon, Barbara excels in a wide variety of vocal styles, especially classic soul and R&B, country, and current pop, delivering it all with energy and enthusiasm.


Marshall Smith — lead vocalist:
Marshall fronted the national recording & touring act Poison, whose “Let Me Lay My Funk on You” charted on Billboard’s Top 20 back in the mid ‘70s! Flashback welcomes Marshall as its newest member and looks forward to the experience and chemistry he brings to the band.


Steve Paulini — lead guitar, lead vocals, backup vocals:
A founder and early member of Casper, Steve brings a wealth of energy, variety, and versatility to Flashback. His enthusiasm for vocals, lead guitar, and music in general is an essential ingredient of the band’s success and longevity.


Glenn Davidson — bass guitar, lead vocals, backup vocals:
Adding the “dance beat” and funk factor that makes Flashback such a great band for listening and dancing, Glenn helps make it a party. His resume lists stints with numerous regional bands, including Mirage and Casper.


Alfred Walker — keyboards, sax, lead & backup vocals:
Alfred has logged many a mile & melody with bands like Sandcastle, Krakajax, and Triple Scoop. His tasteful keyboard work in a variety of styles is a “key” part of the music of Flashback.


Neal Bowens — alto & tenor sax, lead & backup vocals:
He played most recently with The Waller Family Band & Show and has performed professionally for many years – in bands and as a jazz solo artist. Neal’s smooth style shines in his sax solos and serves as an integral element in the Flashback horn section.


Tom Wilkes (aka “T Bone Tommy”) — trombone, lead & backup vocals:
Tommy’s versatile horn has graced the lineups of The Cool Tones and Nick Jazzy. He enjoys adding that smooth trombone bottom end to Flashback’s horn section and has a blast singing funk tune with the band.


Al Kyriakides — trumpet and backup vocals:
Al is an alumnus of Mid Life Crisis, The Soul Providers, and The Rotations, and currently serves as arranger for “The Flashback Horns”. His trumpet playing is a great addition to the horn section and the band as a whole.


Coleman Lyttle — drums, lead & backup vocals, business manager, band
Coleman’s playing credits, prior to forming Flashback more than 30 years ago, include the mid-‘70s vintage Shady Oak from Virginia Tech and the touring group City Lights. He loves laying down the grooves and dance beats with Flashback, and especially playing “in the pocket” with Glenn on bass!


Chris Salamone — audio engineer:
Chris brings extraordinary experience and talent to every performance of Flashback. Band and audience alike benefit nightly from his sound engineering experience with national touring acts Leroy Parnell, Reba McIntyre, and Hootie & the Blowfish (to name a very few), as well as the NBC TV show “Nashville Star”. Chris is also a great drummer, kicking the jams a few times each show as Coleman joins the front line for vocals and assorted antics.



IMG_2022 copyMarc Adams — lighting tech, assistant sound engineer:
A recent graduate of Berklee College of Music in Boston, Marc also plays bass, guitar, and drums – and he writes music, too.